Senate Membership

University of Alberta Senate, September 2016
image by Richard Siemens

Senate Composition

Some members of Senate are elected, some are appointed, as outlined in Section 11(3) of the Post-Secondary Learning Act (2003). Members are volunteers, and they are drawn from as broad a representation of society as possible. The main requirements for public members of Senate are that they care about the University and the community it serves, and are willing to spend time helping to translate that concern into positive results.

The Senate is comprised of: